A Life Free of Alcohol

hgbyih8hajeto

A few weeks ago, as 2017 was just around the corner, I found myself thinking about the things i wanted (or more so needed) to change to have a healthier lifestyle. Don’t get me wrong, i love to enjoy myself. I’m one of those who appreciate good treats. Food, drinks, coffee. So many good things to enjoy. I don’t want to refrain myself to eat or drink something when i want to. Because where’s the fun in that, right ?

Recently, i was reminded that some things in life weren’t meant for you. Bad for your health or your sanity. So, here i am, talking about a specific thing: Alcohol. My favorite thing in the world is beer. I love to enjoy a glass of wine or to have a drink while i’m out and surrounded with friends. Except that, as the young adult that i am, i always unconsciously try to go past my limits. I tend to abuse of the good stuff.

So, i made a decision. A life free of alcohol. Many reasons led me to make this decision.

For as long as i could remember, i was able to see the damages alcohol can have on someone’s life. It can be devastating. I don’t want my life to be like a big mess. I want to have a life i’m proud of. I want to live my life not altered by alcohol. Even if it’s just a drink once in a while. I want to be in control of my actions and take reponsability for them. I want to do everything with a clear state of mind.

While i’m not sure if i’ll stick to this decision my entire life, there is another reason – related to a medical condition – that made it easier to take this decision. Have you ever heard of Alcohol Allergy & Intolerance ? No ? Let me enlighten you.

Alcohol intolerance can cause immediate, unpleasant reactions after you drink alcohol. The most common signs and symptoms of alcohol intolerance are stuffy nose and skin flushing. Alcohol intolerance is caused by a genetic condition in which the body is unable to break down alcohol efficiently. The only way to prevent alcohol intolerance reactions is to avoid alcohol.

Being alcohol intolerent can include having a few (or all) of the symptoms. Signs and symptoms of alcohol intolerance, or of a reaction to ingredients in an alcoholic beverage, can include: Facial redness (flushing); Warm, red, itchy bumps on the skin (hives); Worsening of preexisting asthma; Runny or stuffy nose; Low blood pressure; Nausea and vomiting; Diarrhea. 

While i learnt its existence recently, i’m still documenting myself about it and trying to figure it all out. Some people can handle their booze while others can’t. It is what it is. I know now that i can’t. But not only because i’m a lightweight. I simply react badly to it.

Sure it’s not easy to give something up when you like it. It takes some time to adjust to a life without it but living a life free of Alcohol can only be a positive thing.

K.

 

Leave a Reply

